South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Brule County, South Dakota

Brule County Education, Geography, and History

Brule County, South Dakota Courthouse

Brule County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 5,255. Its county seat is Chamberlain. The county was created in 1875 and organized in 1879.

Etymology - Origin of Brule County Name

Brule may be named for the Brule Sioux Native American people.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Brule County History

Brule County was organized in 1879. In September of 1879 Governor Howard appointed county Commissioners, who then held their first meeting at Brule City, September 20, 1879. A general election held on November 4, 1879 named Brule City as the county seat. The railroad reached Chamberlain in the spring of 1881 and at the election in the fall of that year, the county seat was moved from Brule City to Chamberlain.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 846 square miles (2,192 km2), of which, 819 square miles (2,121 km2) of it is land and 28 square miles (71 km2) of it (3.25%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Buffalo County, South Dakota - north
  • Jerauld County, South Dakota - northeast
  • Aurora County, South Dakota - east
  • Charles Mix County, South Dakota - south
  • Lyman County, South Dakota - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge