South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Day County, South Dakota

Day County Education, Geography, and History

Day County, South Dakota Courthouse

Day County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 5,710. Its county seat is Webster. The county is named after Merritt H. Day, pioneer and 1879 Dakota Territory legislator.

Etymology - Origin of Day County Name

Day is named for Territorial legislator Merrit H. Day.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Day County History

The settlement of the territory which now forms Day County began in 1880. The county was organized under the territorial laws by a board of Commissioners appointed by Governor Ordway. The first meeting of the board was held in Webster on January 2, 1882 and the town of Webster was named county seat. On May 2, 1885 a special election was held in the county submitting the question of dividing the county. The result was in favor of division and Marshall County was taken from the northern part of Day County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,091 square miles (2,826 km2), of which, 1,029 square miles (2,664 km2) of it is land and 63 square miles (162 km2) of it (5.74%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Marshall County, South Dakota - north
  • Roberts County, South Dakota - east
  • Grant County, South Dakota - southeast
  • Codington County, South Dakota - southeast
  • Clark County, South Dakota - south
  • Spink County, South Dakota - southwest
  • Brown County, South Dakota - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge