South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Douglas County, South Dakota

Douglas County Education, Geography, and History

Douglas County, South Dakota Courthouse

Douglas County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 3,002. Its county seat is Armour. The county was established in 1873 and organized in 1882. It is named for Stephen Douglas, of Illinois.

Etymology - Origin of Douglas County Name

Douglas is named for United States Senator Stephen A. Douglas.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Douglas County History

The first legal organization of the county was completed by the meeting of the Commissioners and appointment of a full set of county officials in 1882. They named the town of Huston as temporary county seat. The election of 1882 changed the county seat from Huston to Grand View. Later in 1894, Armour became the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 434 square miles (1,124 km2), of which, 434 square miles (1,123 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (2 km2) of it (0.14%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Aurora County, South Dakota - north
  • Davison County, South Dakota - northeast
  • Hutchinson County, South Dakota - east
  • Charles Mix County, South Dakota - southwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge