South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Fall River County, South Dakota

Fall River County Education, Geography, and History

Fall River County, South Dakota Courthouse

Fall River County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 7,094. Its county seat is Hot Springs. The county was founded in 1883. It is named for Fall River which runs through it.

Etymology - Origin of Fall River County Name

Fall River is named for the Fall River.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Fall River County History

Fall River County organized as a county in Dakota Territory in November 1883 and Hot Springs was chosen as the county seat. The county was once known as Forsythe County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,749 square miles (4,530 km2), of which, 1,740 square miles (4,506 km2) of it is land and 9 square miles (24 km2) of it (0.53%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Custer County, South Dakota - north
  • Shannon County, South Dakota - east
  • Dawes County, Nebraska - southeast
  • Sioux County, Nebraska - south
  • Niobrara County, Wyoming - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge