South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Faulk County, South Dakota

Faulk County Education, Geography, and History

Faulk County, South Dakota Courthouse

Faulk County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 2,364. Its county seat is Faulkton. The county was founded in 1873 and organized in 1883. It is named for Andrew Jackson Faulk, the third Governor of Dakota Territory.

Etymology - Origin of Faulk County Name

Faulk is named for Governor of Dakota Territory Andrew Jackson Faulk.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Faulk County History

During the winter of 1873 the territorial legislature passed a bill creating several counties among which was Faulk. Faulk County was named in honor of Governor Faulk. LaFoon became the first county seat in 1883 and might have remained so if the coming of the Northwestern railroad had not aided Faulkton, when the county seat was moved in 1886.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,006 square miles (2,605 km2), of which, 1,000 square miles (2,590 km2) of it is land and 6 square miles (14 km2) of it (0.55%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Edmunds County, South Dakota - north
  • Spink County, South Dakota - east
  • Hand County, South Dakota - south
  • Hyde County, South Dakota - southwest
  • Potter County, South Dakota - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge