South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Hand County, South Dakota

Hand County Education, Geography, and History

Hand County, South Dakota Courthouse

Hand County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 3,431. Its county seat is Miller.

Etymology - Origin of Hand County Name

Hand is named for George H. Hand, US Attorney for the District of Dakota Territory.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Hand County History

Hand County was created in 1873 and organized in 1882. It was named for George H. Hand, US Attorney for the Dakota Territory. The first county commission meeting was held September 1, 1882. The town of Miller was named County seat, but not without a battle with St. Lawrence.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,440 square miles (3,730 km2), of which, 1,437 square miles (3,721 km2) of it is land and 4 square miles (9 km2) of it (0.25%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Faulk County, South Dakota - north
  • Spink County, South Dakota - northeast
  • Beadle County, South Dakota - east
  • Jerauld County, South Dakota - southeast
  • Buffalo County, South Dakota - southwest
  • Hyde County, South Dakota - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge