South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Hanson County, South Dakota

Hanson County Education, Geography, and History

Hanson County, South Dakota Courthouse

Hanson County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 3,331. Its county seat is Alexandria. The county was founded in 1871 and organized in 1873. It was named for Joseph R. Hanson, clerk of the first legislature.

Hanson County is part of the Mitchell, SD Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Hanson County Name

Hanson was named for Joseph R. Hanson of Yankton


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Hanson County History

The county was formally organized in January 1871 and named for Major Hanson who had settled in the area in 1870. The county seat was temporarily located at Rockport. The town of Alexandria became the county seat in 1880.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 436 square miles (1,128 km2), of which, 435 square miles (1,126 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (2 km2) of it (0.20%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Miner County, South Dakota - north
  • McCook County, South Dakota - east
  • Hutchinson County, South Dakota - south
  • Davison County, South Dakota - west
  • Sanborn County, South Dakota - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge