South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Harding County, South Dakota

Harding County Education, Geography, and History

Harding County, South Dakota Courthouse

Harding County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 1,255, making it the second-least populous county in South Dakota. Its county seat is Buffalo. The county was established in 1881 and named in honor of J.A. Harding, who had been Speaker of the House of the Dakota Territory. It was merged for a few years with Butte County, under that county's name, but became separate again in 1909.

Etymology - Origin of Harding County Name

Harding is named for territorial legislator J. A. Harding.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Harding County History

Harding County was established in 1881 and named for J. A. Harding, Speaker of the House of Representatives of Dakota Territory at that time. An 1898 general election changed the boundaries of Butte County to include Harding County. In 1908 it was separated from Butte County and again became Harding County with its present boundaries. Buffalo became the county seat in November of 1910.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,678 square miles (6,935 km2), of which, 2,670 square miles (6,917 km2) of it is land and 7 square miles (18 km2) of it (0.26%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Bowman County, North Dakota - north
  • Adams County, North Dakota - northeast
  • Perkins County, South Dakota - east
  • Butte County, South Dakota - south
  • Carter County, Montana - west
  • Fallon County, Montana - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge