South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Hutchinson County, South Dakota

Hutchinson County Education, Geography, and History

Hutchinson County, South Dakota Courthouse

Hutchinson County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 7,343. Its county seat is Olivet. The county was created in 1862 and organized in 1871. It was named for John Hutchinson, first territorial secretary.

Etymology - Origin of Hutchinson County Name

Hutchinson is named for territorial secretary John Hutchinson.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Hutchinson County History

Hutchinson County was established with its present boundaries in 1871. The county seat was located at Maxwell City where it remained until October 14, 1883, when it was voted to locate the county seat at Olivet. In 1873-74 the legislative assembly divided the county and the north half being named Armstrong County. By legislative act, the counties were reunited in 1879

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 814 square miles (2,109 km2), of which, 813 square miles (2,105 km2) of it is land and 2 square miles (4 km2) of it (0.19%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Hanson County, South Dakota - north
  • McCook County, South Dakota - northeast
  • Turner County, South Dakota - east
  • Yankton County, South Dakota - southeast
  • Bon Homme County, South Dakota - south
  • Charles Mix County, South Dakota - southwest
  • Douglas County, South Dakota - west
  • Davison County, South Dakota - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge