South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Jones County, South Dakota

Jones County Education, Geography, and History

Jones County, South Dakota Courthouse

Jones County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 1,006, making it the least populous county in South Dakota. Its county seat is Murdo. Created in 1916 and organized in 1917, it is the most recently established county in South Dakota

Etymology - Origin of Jones County Name

Jones is named for Jones County, Iowa.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Jones County History

As an unorganized county, Jones County was called Pratt. Lyman County, which was unorganized and heavily in debt, persuaded Presho and Pratt Counties to join. Almost immediately the fight to separate began. In 1907 the legislature passed a law describing how the counties should separate. The vote failed. In 1910 they voted again and lost and in 1916 they voted once again and the proposition carried. Murdo is the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 972 square miles (2,517 km2), of which, 971 square miles (2,514 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (3 km2) of it (0.12%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Stanley County, South Dakota - north
  • Lyman County, South Dakota - east
  • Mellette County, South Dakota - south
  • Jackson County, South Dakota - southwest
  • Haakon County, South Dakota - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge