South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Kingsbury County, South Dakota

Kingsbury County Education, Geography, and History

Kingsbury County, South Dakota Courthouse

Kingsbury County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 5,148. Its county seat is De Smet. The county was created in 1873 and organized in 1880. It was named for two brothers, George W. and T. A. Kingsbury of the prominent Kingsbury family, who were prominently involved in the affairs of Dakota Territory (which, at that time, the county was located in) and members of several Territorial Legislatures.

Etymology - Origin of Kingsbury County Name

Kingsbury is named for territorial legislators and brothers George W. Kingsbury and T.A. Kingsbury.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Kingsbury County History

Kingsbury, which is located in the east central part of the state was created from Hanson County in 1873. The county seat is De Smet. The population of Kingsbury County, in 2000, was 5815.

Kingsbury County was named after two brothers, George W. and T. A. Kingsbury, who were prominent in the affairs of the territory and members of several territorial legislatures. In December, 1879, Governor Howard, territorial Governor for Dakota, appointed county Commissioners. After a bitter struggle between DeSmet and Lake Preston, the voters chose De Smet as the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 864 square miles (2,237 km2), of which, 838 square miles (2,171 km2) of it is land and 25 square miles (66 km2) of it (2.93%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Hamlin County, South Dakota - northeast
  • Brookings County, South Dakota - east
  • Lake County, South Dakota - southeast
  • Miner County, South Dakota - south
  • Beadle County, South Dakota - west
  • Clark County, South Dakota - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge