South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Lyman County, South Dakota

Lyman County Education, Geography, and History

Lyman County, South Dakota Courthouse

Lyman County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 3,755. Its county seat is Kennebec.

Etymology - Origin of Lyman County Name

Lyman is named for territorial legislator W.P. Lyman.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lyman County History

Lyman County was created by the Dakota Territorial Legislature in 1873 and organized in 1893. The county was named for Major W. P. Lyman, a member of the territorial legislature in 1873. Oacoma was the county's earliest town and first county seat. When Lyman and Jones County separated, Presho and Kennebec were the chief rivals of Oacoma for the honor of county seat. Following an election, the county seat was moved to Kennebec in 1923.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,707 square miles (4,421 km2), of which, 1,640 square miles (4,247 km2) of it is land and 67 square miles (174 km2) of it (3.93%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Hughes County, South Dakota - north
  • Hyde County, South Dakota - northwest
  • Buffalo County, South Dakota - northwest
  • Brule County, South Dakota - east
  • Gregory County, South Dakota - south
  • Tripp County, South Dakota - south
  • Mellette County, South Dakota - southeast
  • Jones County, South Dakota - west
  • Stanley County, South Dakota - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge