South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Marshall County, South Dakota

Marshall County Education, Geography, and History

Marshall County, South Dakota Courthouse

Marshall County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 4,656. Its county seat is Britton. The county is named after Marshall Vincent, who homesteaded near Andover, South Dakota

Etymology - Origin of Marshall County Name

Marshall is named for prominent county resident Marshall Vincent.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Marshall County History

Marshall County was organized in March 1885 and originally included a good portion of Day County. The division of Day County was put to a vote in 1885. An election in July 1885 resulted in election of officers and naming Britton as the county seat. The county was named in honor of Marshall Vincent, one of the area's foremost citizens and a county commissioner.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 886 square miles (2,294 km2), of which, 838 square miles (2,170 km2) of it is land and 48 square miles (124 km2) of it is water. The total area is 5.41% water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Sargent County, North Dakota - north
  • Roberts County, South Dakota - east
  • Day County, South Dakota - south
  • Brown County, South Dakota - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge