South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

McPherson County, South Dakota

McPherson County Education, Geography, and History

McPherson County, South Dakota Courthouse

McPherson County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 2,459. Its county seat is Leola

Etymology - Origin of McPherson County Name

McPherson is named for American Civil War military officer James B. McPherson.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

McPherson County History

McPherson County, created in 1873 and organized in 1885, was named for Brig. General James B. McPherson, one of the outstanding Union officers of the Civil War. The county seat is located at Leola.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,152 square miles (2,983 km2), of which, 1,137 square miles (2,945 km2) of it is land and 15 square miles (39 km2) of it (1.29%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • McIntosh County, North Dakota - north
  • Dickey County, North Dakota - northeast
  • Brown County, South Dakota - east
  • Edmunds County, South Dakota - south
  • Campbell County, South Dakota - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge