South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Miner County, South Dakota

Miner County Education, Geography, and History

Miner County, South Dakota Courthouse

Miner County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 2,389. Its county seat is Howard. The county was created in 1873 and organized in 1880.

Etymology - Origin of Miner County Name

Miner is named for territorial legislators Nelson Miner and Ephriam Miner.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Miner County History

Miner County was created in 1873 and organized in 1880. It was named for Captain Nelson Miner of Vermillion and Ephriam Miner of Yankton, both of whom were members of the Territorial Legislature in 1873. In 1880 Territorial Governor Ordway named three Commissioners. Forestburg and Howard were contending for the county seat. Howard's victory was said to be due to the large number of graders from out of state working on the railroad. Following a legal battle with citizens from Forestburg, the records were delivered to Howard.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 572 square miles (1,481 km2), of which, 570 square miles (1,477 km2) of it is land and 2 square miles (4 km2) of it (0.29%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Kingsbury County, South Dakota - north
  • Lake County, South Dakota - east
  • McCook County, South Dakota - southeast
  • Hanson County, South Dakota - southwest
  • Sanborn County, South Dakota - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge