South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Moody County, South Dakota

Moody County Education, Geography, and History

MoodyCounty, South Dakota Courthouse

Moody County is a county located in the state of South Dakota in the United States. The population was 6,486 at the 2010 census. Its county seat is Flandreau. The county is named for Gideon C. Moody

Etymology - Origin of Moody County Name

Moody is named for territorial legislator and later US Senator Gideon C. Moody.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Moody County History

Moody County, created and organized in 1873, was named for Col. Gideon C. Moody, Speaker of the House in the Territorial Legislature of 1874-75, associate justice of the Territorial Supreme Court from 1878 to 1883, and one of South Dakota's first two US Senators from 1889-1891. The first county commission meeting was held in August, 1873. The county seat issue was referred to the voters in November 1881 and Flandreau was favored over Egan.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 521 square miles (1,350 km2), of which, 520 square miles (1,346 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (4 km2) of it (0.27%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Brookings County, South Dakota - north
  • Pipestone County, Minnesota - east
  • Minnehaha County, South Dakota - south
  • Lake County, South Dakota - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge