South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Potter County, South Dakota

Potter County Education, Geography, and History

Potter County, South Dakota Courthouse

Potter County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 2,329. Its county seat is Gettysburg. The county was created in 1873 and organized in 1883.

Etymology - Origin of Potter County Name

Potter is named for territorial legislator Joel A. Potter.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Potter County History

Potter County, created in 1875 and organized in 1883, was created as Ashmore County, in honor of Samuel Ashmore of Elk Point, a member of the Legislature of 1872-3. Later the name was changed to Potter in 1877 to honor Dr. Joel A. Potter, a member of the Legislature of that year. The first county commission meeting was held at Forest City on December 27, 1883 to locate a county seat. In January 1885, after a court fight the town of Gettysburg was named county seat and the records were moved to that location.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 898 square miles (2,327 km2), of which, 866 square miles (2,244 km2) of it is land and 32 square miles (83 km2) of it (3.56%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Walworth County, South Dakota - north
  • Edmunds County, South Dakota - northeast
  • Faulk County, South Dakota - east
  • Hyde County, South Dakota - southeast
  • Sully County, South Dakota - south
  • Dewey County, South Dakota - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge