South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Roberts County, South Dakota

Roberts County Education, Geography, and History

Roberts County, South Dakota Courthouse

Roberts County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 10,149. Its county seat is Sisseton. The county was named either for S. G. Roberts of Fargo, North Dakota, or for Solomon Robar, an early local French fur trader.

Etymology - Origin of Roberts County Name

Roberts is named for territorial legislator S. G. Roberts.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Roberts County History

Roberts County, created and organized in 1883, has a name of uncertain derivation. One theory has it named for S. G. Roberts, a book publisher who was a member of the council in the Territorial Legislature. The county seat was originally located at Travare. Wilmot wanted the county seat and a court battle followed. Travare won but the records were taken by force and moved to Wilmot where it stayed until 1898 when by a similar situation the records were taken from Wilmot to Sisseton.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,135 square miles (2,941 km2), of which, 1,101 square miles (2,852 km2) of it is land and 34 square miles (88 km2) of it (3.00%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Richland County, North Dakota - north
  • Traverse County, Minnesota - northeast
  • Big Stone County, Minnesota - southeast
  • Grant County, South Dakota - south
  • Day County, South Dakota - southwest
  • Marshall County, South Dakota - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge