South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Sanborn County, South Dakota

Sanborn County Education, Geography, and History

Sanborn County, South Dakota Courthouse

Sanborn County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 2,355. Its county seat is Woonsocket.

Etymology - Origin of Sanborn County Name

Sanborn is named for Milwaukee Railroad superintendent George W. Sanborn.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Sanborn County History

Sanborn County, created and organized in 1883, was named for George W. Sanborn, who was division superintendent of the Milwaukee Railroad at the time the line was built through Sanborn County. At the first election in 1884, Forestburg, Letcher and Woonsocket were all bidding for the county seat. Rumor has it that Woonsocket may have won by the votes of the railroad graders working on the line. A recount failed to change the results

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 570 square miles (1,477 km2), of which, 569 square miles (1,474 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (3 km2) of it (0.21%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Beadle County, South Dakota - north
  • Miner County, South Dakota - east
  • Hanson County, South Dakota - southeast
  • Davison County, South Dakota - south
  • Aurora County, South Dakota - southwest
  • Jerauld County, South Dakota - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge