South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Tripp County, South Dakota

Tripp County Education, Geography, and History

Tripp County, South Dakota Courthouse

Tripp County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 5,644. Its county seat is Winner. The county was created in 1873 and organized in 1909. It is named after lawyer, judge, and diplomat Bartlett Tripp.

Etymology - Origin of Tripp County Name

Tripp is named for chief justice of the Dakota Territory Supreme Court Bartlett Tripp.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Tripp County History

Tripp County, created in 1873, organized in 1909, was named for Bartlett Tripp, who held the office of chief justice of the Territorial Supreme Court from 1886 to 1889. An election was held June 1, 1909 for the organization of the county, election of county officials and selection of the county seat. Lamro was chosen for the county seat. After the general election in 1910, Winner was chosen as the county seat

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,617 square miles (4,189 km2), of which, 1,614 square miles (4,179 km2) of it is land and 4 square miles (10 km2) of it (0.24%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Lyman County, South Dakota - north
  • Gregory County, South Dakota - east
  • Keya Paha County, Nebraska - south
  • Todd County, South Dakota - southwest
  • Mellette County, South Dakota - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge