South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Union County, South Dakota

Union County Education, Geography, and History

Union County, South Dakota Courthouse

Union County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 14,399. Its county seat is Elk Point. Originally named Cole County, the named was changed to Union because of Civil War sentiment.

Union County is part of the Sioux City, IA–NE–SD Metropolitan Statistical Area

Etymology - Origin of Union County Name

Union was named because of pro-Union sentiment during the American Civil War.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Union County History

Union County, created in 1862, organized in 1862, was originally named Cole for Austin Cole, a member of the first Territorial Legislature. Two years later, in 1864, the boundaries were rearranged and the name was changed to Union because of sentiment for the Union side of the Civil War. The county seat is located at Elk Point.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 467 square miles (1,210 km2), of which, 460 square miles (1,192 km2) of it is land and 7 square miles (17 km2) of it (1.43%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Lincoln County, South Dakota - north
  • Sioux County, Iowa - northeast
  • Plymouth County, Iowa - east
  • Woodbury County, Iowa - southeast
  • Dakota County, Nebraska - south
  • Dixon County, Nebraska - southwest
  • Clay County, South Dakota - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge