South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Walworth County, South Dakota

Walworth County Education, Geography, and History

Walworth County, South Dakota Courthouse

Walworth County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 5,438. Its county seat is Selby. The county was created in 1873 and organized in 1883. It is named after Walworth County, Wisconsin.

Etymology - Origin of Walworth County Name

Walworth is named for Walworth County, Wisconsin.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Walworth County History

Walworth County, created in 1852, organized in 1883, was named for Walworth County, Wisconsin by settlers from that area. The first county seat was Scranton, which was later added to and called South LeBeau. The voters decided in November of 1884 that the county seat should be moved to Bangor, the center of the county. The long struggle for the county seat began in the summer of 1900 between Selby and Bangor. This battle continued until early in 1908 when the court gave the seat to Selby.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 744 square miles (1,928 km2), of which, 708 square miles (1,833 km2) of it is land and 36 square miles (94 km2) of it (4.89%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Campbell County, South Dakota - north
  • Edmunds County, South Dakota - east
  • Potter County, South Dakota - south
  • Dewey County, South Dakota - southwest
  • Corson County, South Dakota - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge