South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Yankton County, South Dakota

Yankton County Education, Geography, and History

Yankton County, South Dakota Courthouse

Yankton County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 22,438. Its county seat is Yankton.

Yankton County comprises the Yankton, SD Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Yankton County Name

Yankton is named for the Yankton Sioux Native American people.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Yankton County History

Yankton County was named for the Yankton tribe of Sioux Indians who lived in this region at the time settlement was begun in 1858. The first legislature for Dakota Territory convened under the Governor's call at Yankton, March 17, 1862. At this session Yankton was made the permanent capital of the Territory and a bill was passed establishing Yankton County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 533 square miles (1,379 km2), of which, 522 square miles (1,351 km2) of it is land and 11 square miles (29 km2) of it (2.08%) is water. It is bordered by the Missouri River.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Turner County, South Dakota - northeast
  • Clay County, South Dakota - east
  • Cedar County, Nebraska - southeast
  • Knox County, Nebraska - southwest
  • Bon Homme County, South Dakota - west
  • Hutchinson County, South Dakota - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge