Washington Counties
Washington County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Washington Counties

There are thity-nine counties in the state of Washington. Washington was carved out of the western part of Washington Territory and admitted to the Union as the 42nd state in 1889. The first counties were created from unorganized territory in 1845.

Mason County, Washington

Mason County Education, Geography, and History

Mason County, Washington Courthouse

Mason County is a county located in the state of Washington. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 60,699. The county seat and only incorporated city is Shelton. The county was formed out of King County on March 13, 1854. Originally named Sawamish County, it took its present name in 1864 in honor of Charles H. Mason, the first Secretary of Washington Territory.

Mason County comprises the Shelton, WA Micropolitan Statistical Area and is included in the Seattle-Tacoma, WA Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Mason County Name

C. H. Mason, the first secretary of the Washington Territory.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Mason County History

Mason County was formed out of King County on March 13, 1854. Originally named Sahewamish County, it took its present name in 1864

Mason County encompasses the southern reach of Hood Canal and many bays and inlets of southern Puget Sound and once extended to the Pacific Ocean. After settlement, the mainstay of the economy was logging. Simpson Timber became not just the main employer, but the largest source of jobs in the state. As the importance of forest products declined, the county became an important recreation destination and bedroom community to Olympia and Tacoma. The largest employer is the State of Washington which operates a prison and the State Patrol Academy at Shelton. The 2004 estimated population was 53,637.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,051 square miles (2,722 km2), of which, 961 square miles (2,489 km2) of it is land and 90 square miles (233 km2) of it (8.56%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Jefferson County, Washington - northwest
  • Kitsap County, Washington - northeast
  • Pierce County, Washington - east/southeast
  • Thurston County, Washington - southeast
  • Grays Harbor County, Washington - southwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge