Washington Counties
Washington County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Washington Counties

There are thity-nine counties in the state of Washington. Washington was carved out of the western part of Washington Territory and admitted to the Union as the 42nd state in 1889. The first counties were created from unorganized territory in 1845.

Skagit County, Washington

Skagit County Education, Geography, and History

Skagit County, Washington Courthouse

Skagit County is a county in the state of Washington. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 116,901. The county seat and largest city is Mount Vernon. The county was formed in 1883 from Whatcom County and is named for the Skagit Indian tribe, which has been indigenous to the area prior to European-American settlement.

Skagit County comprises the Mount Vernon-Anacortes, WA Metropolitan Statistical Area, and is included in the Seattle-Tacoma, WA Combined Statistical Area. It is located in the Puget Sound region.

Etymology - Origin of Skagit County Name

The Skagit Native American tribe.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Skagit County History

Skagit County was created 28 November 1883 from Whatcom County. Skagit County encompasses some of the most spectacular scenery in Washington state. From Rosario Strait and the flats (a riverine delta) to the forested gorges of the Skagit River to the craggy Cascades Mountains, it is an area rich in nature and human history. Home to native peoples for millennia, it attracted the attention of European and American explorers as early as the 1790s. Euro-American settlement began in earnest in the early 1860s. After the first dike was built on the LaConner flats in 1863, the county began to emerge as a major agricultural center. Throughout the twentieth century the area’s reputation as a world leader in seed production increased along with its importance as a fishery and lumber producer and as an international destination for recreational salmon and steelhead fishing. Today, the county boasts good schools, museums, performing arts theaters, Skagit Valley College, malls and specialty commercial districts as well as wonderful state and national parks. It is also the center of Washington state's petroleum industry.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,920 square miles (4,974 km2), of which, 1,735 square miles (4,494 km2) of it is land and 185 square miles (480 km2) of it (9.65%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Whatcom County, Washington - north
  • Okanogan County, Washington - east
  • Chelan County, Washington - southeast
  • Snohomish County, Washington - south
  • Island County, Washington - southwest
  • San Juan County, Washington - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge