Washington Counties
Washington County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Washington Counties

There are thity-nine counties in the state of Washington. Washington was carved out of the western part of Washington Territory and admitted to the Union as the 42nd state in 1889. The first counties were created from unorganized territory in 1845.

Snohomish County, Washington

Snohomish County Education, Geography, and History

Snohomish County, Washington Government Building

Snohomish County /snoʊˈhoʊmᵻʃ/ is a county located in the state of Washington. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 713,335, making it the third-most populous county in Washington. The county seat and largest city is Everett. The county was created out of Island County on January 14, 1861 and is named for the Snohomish tribe.

Snohomish County is included in the Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Snohomish County Name

The Snohomish Native American tribe.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Snohomish County History

 Snohomish County, formed on January 14, 1861, was originally part of Island County. It covers 2,098 square miles, ranging from the Cascade Mountains to Puget Sound. It is bordered by Skagit County to the north, King County to the south and Chelan County to the east. Forest constitutes 68 percent of the county's land, and Mt. Baker National Forest and 10,436-foot Glacier Peak lie within its boundaries. Two major river systems flow through the land: the Stillaguamish River, with its north and south forks, and the Snohomish River, formed from the Skykomish and Snoqualmie rivers. For thousands of years the Snohomish and related tribes inhabited the area that presently comprises Snohomish County, Hat, Whidbey, and Camano islands. Following the 1855 Point Elliott Treaty, most of the Snohomish were relocated to a reservation established at Tulalip. Early white settlers arrived to take advantage of the area's agricultural, logging, mining, and industrial potential. By the 1920s, logging, lumbering, and agriculture dominated the economy, but in recent years, the largest county employers are aerospace, technology, service industries, tourism, and the building trades. Snohomish County is presently one of the fastest growing counties in the region with a population of 671,800 (2006). Everett is its largest city and the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,196 square miles (5,689 km2), of which, 2,089 square miles (5,411 km2) of it is land and 107 square miles (278 km2) of it (4.89%) is water. The highest point in the county is volcanic Glacier Peak at 10,541 feet (3,213 meters) above sea level.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Skagit County, Washington North
  • Chelan County, Washington East
  • King County, Washington South


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge