Washington Counties
Washington County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Washington Counties

There are thity-nine counties in the state of Washington. Washington was carved out of the western part of Washington Territory and admitted to the Union as the 42nd state in 1889. The first counties were created from unorganized territory in 1845.

Yakima County, Washington

Yakima County Education, Geography, and History

Yakima County, Washington Courthouse

Yakima County is a county in the state of Washington. Based on the 2010 census, its population was 243,231. The county seat and largest city is Yakima. The county was formed out of Ferguson County on January 21, 1865 and is named for Yakama tribe of Native Americans. Ferguson County, no longer in existence, had been created from Walla Walla County on January 23, 1863.

Yakima County comprises the Yakima, WA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Yakima County Name

The Yakama Native American tribe.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Yakima County History

Yakima County was created 21 January 1865 from Walla Walla. Yakima is the second largest county in Washington, covering 4,296 square miles (2.7 million acres), and ranks seventh in per-county population with 222,581 residents counted in the 2000 United States population census. The town of Yakima is the county seat. Yakima County encompasses most of the Yakama Indian Reservation, and federal, state, or tribal governments own nearly 200 million acres of land in the county. The location of many towns within Yakima County was largely determined by the Northern Pacific Railroad, along whose route the sites were chosen, named, platted, and eventually sold to settlers. Yakima County's primary industry is agriculture, bolstered by an annual average of 300 days of sunshine and nutrient-rich volcanic soil and enabled by Yakima River irrigation projects.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 4,312 square miles (11,167 km2), of which, 4,296 square miles (11,127 km2) of it is land and 15 square miles (40 km2) of it (0.36%) is water. The highest point in the county is Mount Adams at 12,277 feet (3,742 meters) above sea level.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Kittitas County, Washington - north
  • Grant County, Washington - northeast
  • Benton County, Washington - east
  • Klickitat County, Washington - south
  • Skamania County, Washington - west/southwest
  • Lewis County, Washington - west
  • Pierce County, Washington - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge