Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Arizona Counties
Arizona County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Arizona Counties
There are 15 Counties in the U.S. state of Arizona. There is also one defunct county: Pah-Ute County was formed in 1865 from Mohave County and returned in 1871. Four Counties (Mohave, Pima, Yavapai and Yuma) were created in 1864 following the organization of the Arizona Territory in 1862. All but La Paz County were created by the time Arizona was granted statehood in 1912.

Navajo County, Arizona

Navajo County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Holbrook
Year Organized: 1895
Square Miles: 9,954
Court House:

100 E Carter Drive, PO Box 668
County Complex
Holbrook, AZ 86025-0668

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Navajo is named after the Navajo Native American people.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Navajo County, Arizona

What is now Navajo County was first included in Yavapai County, but in 1879, the area was added to the newly formed Apache County.
By the time it became Navajo County, the railroad had crossed the county for more than a decade, and North America's third largest ranch, the Aztec Land and Cattle Company near Holbrook, had been established. Backed by Easterners, Aztec bought 1 million acres of land from the railroad at 50 cents an acre. A company, known as the Hashknife Outfit because of its brand, brought 33,000 longhorn cattle and 2,200 horses into northern Arizona from Texas. The county seat, Holbrook, was founded in 1881.

In the north is Kayenta, founded in 1909 as a trading post, and now the gateway to the Navajo Tribal Park at Monument Valley and a thriving Navajo community. Farther south is the Hopi Indian Reservation, which is completely surrounded by the Navajo Reservation. The Hopi Pueblo of Oraibi is one of the oldest continuously inhabited settlements in the United States.

Almost 66 percent of Navajo County's 9,949 square miles is Indian reservation land. Individual and corporate ownership accounts for 18 percent; the US Forest Service and US Bureau of Land Management together control 9 percent; and the state of Arizona owns 5.9 percent. All of Navajo County is an Enterprise Zone.

Today, Navajo County's principal industries are tourism, coal mining, manufacturing, timber production and ranching.

Neighboring Counties:

  • North: San Juan County, Utah
  • East: Apache County
  • South: Graham County
  • Southwest: Gila County
  • Northwest: Coconino County

Cities and Towns:

- Holbrook (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Pinetop-Lakeside town Incorporated Area
- Show Low city Incorporated Area
- Snowflake town Incorporated Area
- Taylor town Incorporated Area
- Winslow city Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"