Career College Search

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Have you begun your college search? Find a college that's right for you. Acess over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US.

Begin Now!

Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Madison County, Missouri

Madison County Education, Geography, and HistoryMadison County, Missouri Courthouse

Madison County is a county located in the Lead Belt region of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 12,226. Its county seat and largest city is Fredericktown. The county was officially organized on December 14, 1818, and was named after President James Madison

Etymology - Origin of Madison County Name

Named for United States President James Madison.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

History of Madison County

Bounded on the north by St. Francois County, on the east by Perry and Bollinger counties, on the south by Bollinger and Wayne, and on the west by Iron County, Madison was created by Territorial Legislation in 1818. Originally the boundary on the west was Black River; it was reduced to its present size in 1867 when Iron County was formed. Originally the county was divided into three townships, viz: Castor (east), St. Michael (west), and Liberty (north). In 1821 two new townships were organized, Twelve Mile and German. At present there are ten townships. The first settlement within Madison County was made at Mine La Motte (q.v.). The county seat was established at Fredericktown (q.v.), in 1819. The name was given in honor of James Madison (1751-1836), President of the United States from 1809-1817, during the War of 1812. (Douglass I 167, Conard, Goodspeed 339-342)

Source: Hamlett, Mayme L. "Place Names Of Six Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1938.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 498 square miles (1,290 km2), of which 494 square miles (1,280 km2) is land and 3.2 square miles (8.3 km2) (0.6%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • St. Francois County (north)
  • Perry County (northeast)
  • Bollinger County (east)
  • Wayne County (south)
  • Iron County (west)


Of adults 25 years of age and older in Madison County, 68.6% possesses a high school diploma while 7.8% holds a bachelor's degree as their highest educational attainment.

Public schools

Fredericktown R-I School District - Fredericktown
Marquand-Zion R-VI School District - Marquand

Private schools

Faith Christian Academy - Fredericktown

Missouri Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"
Hunting for a new job? Get advice or search over 1.6 million jobs on the largest job site
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..

Find and Compare!

With access to over 8,500 schools to choose from!

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

Support for eReferenceDesk
More information at
Support eReferenceDesk

Please click the "DONATE" button and enter the amount you wish to contribute: