Arkansas Counties
Arkansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Arkansas Counties

The first of the Arkansas' seventy-five present-day counties created, Arkansas County was formed on 13 December 1813, when this area was part of the Missouri Territory.

Faulkner County, Arkansas

Faulkner County Education, Geography, and HistoryFaulkner County, Arkansas Courthouse

Faulkner County is a county located in the Central Arkansas region of the US state of Arkansas. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 113,237, making it the fifth most populous of Arkansas's seventy-five counties. The county seat and largest city is Conway. Faulkner County was created on April 12, 1873, one of nine counties formed during Reconstruction. Faulkner county is named for Arkansas Militia Colonel Sandy Faulkner, a popular figure in the state at the time.

Etymology - Origin of Faulkner County Name

Faulkner county is named for Sanford C. 'Sandy' Faulkner, a soldier in the American Civil War and the composer of the popular fiddle tune "The Arkansas Traveller". Colonel Sanford C. 'Sandy' Faulkner (1806-1874) was an American teller of tall tales, fiddle player, and composer of the popular fiddle tune The Arkansas Traveler which was the State song of Arkansas from 1949-1963.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

County History

Faulkner county was created on April 12, 1873, from parts of Conway and Pulaski Counties and was named for Col. Sanford C. Faulkner, a fiddle player and tall-tale teller, who was given the name of being the original "Arkansaw Traveler." The county seat is Conway. The landscape of the county is rising and falling hills and farmland. Its proximity to Little Rock and to major transportation routes makes it attractive for industry such as light manufacturing. Population growth of the county is at its highest. Three institutions of higher learning are located in Conway: Hendrix College, Central Baptist College, and the University of Central Arkansas. Conway is also home to the Arkansas Educational Television Network. Woolly Hollow State Park has a lake, picnic area, hiking trails, and campsites. Lake Conway, the country's largest Game and Fish Commission Lake, has 6,700 acres of good fishing and Cadron Creek has excellent floating past scenic areas. Toad Suck Park is the site of an Arkansas River crossing dating back to 1820 and the current site of Toad Suck Ferry Lock and Dam. In May of each year "Toad Suck Daze" features toad-jumping contest and other activities that attract large crowds of local people and many visitors.

Located at the intersection of the Ozarks and Arkansas River Valley, the county was sparsely populated for much of its early years. Largely a county of rural settlements, growth came slowly following the Civil War and Reconstruction. A college, known today as University of Central Arkansas was established in 1907, but population continued to grow slowly. The growth of Little Rock and the construction of Interstate 40 have made Conway and other parts of Faulkner County into bedroom communities for the state capitol. Today Faulkner County is included in the Central Arkansas metro area, with Conway as a principal city

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 664 square miles (1,720 km2), of which 648 square miles (1,680 km2) is land and 16 square miles (41 km2) (2.4%) is water.

The landscape of the county is rolling hills and farmland.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Cleburne County
  • East: White County
  • Southeast: Lonoke County
  • South: Pulaski County
  • Southwest: Perry County
  • Northwest: Conway County; Van Buren County


Public education

Publicly funded education for elementary and secondary school students is provided by:

  • Conway School District, which includes Conway High School, Conway
    Greenbrier School District, which includes Greenbrier High School, Greenbrier
  • Guy-Perkins School District, which includes Guy-Perkins High School, Guy
  • Mayflower School District, which includes Mayflower High School, Mayflower
  • Mount Vernon-Enola School District, which includes Mount Vernon-Enola High School, Mount Vernon
  • Vilonia School District, which includes Vilonia High School, Vilonia

Private education

Privately funded education for elementary and secondary school students is provided by:

  • St. Joseph High School, Conway
  • Conway Christian School (Conway, Arkansas)

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge