Arkansas Counties
Arkansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Arkansas Counties

The first of the Arkansas' seventy-five present-day counties created, Arkansas County was formed on 13 December 1813, when this area was part of the Missouri Territory.

Lee County, Arkansas

Lee County Education, Geography, and HistoryLee County, Arkansas Courthouse

Lee County is a county located in the state of Arkansas. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 10,424. The county seat is Marianna. Lee County is Arkansas's 72nd county, formed alongside St. Francis and Phillips counties on April 17, 1873The county is named for Confederate General Robert E. Lee.

Etymology - Origin of Lee County Name

Lee county is named for Robert Edward Lee, the Confederate commander-in-chief. Robert Edward Lee (January 19, 1807 - October 12, 1870), was a career United States Army officer, an engineer, and among the most celebrated generals in American history. Lee was the son of Major General Henry Lee III "Light Horse Harry" (1756-1818), Governor of Virginia, and his second wife, Anne Hill Carter (1773-1829). He was a descendant of Sir Thomas More and of King Robert II of Scotland through the Earls of Crawford.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lee County History

Lee county was created on April 17, 1873, from parts of Crittenden, Monroe, Phillips and St. Francis counties, in which the county was named after General Robert E. Lee. The county seat is Marianna.  The John Patterson Memorial in Marianna marks the birthplace of the first non-native American born west of the Mississippi. His favorite riddle: "I was born in a kingdom (Spain), raised in an empire (France), attained manhood in a territory (Arkansas), and now am a citizen of a state, and have never been 100 miles from where I was born." The economy is mainly agriculture. Rich cotton and other typical delta crops are grown here. The Crowley's Ridge area grows fruit crops and pecan trees. Processing agricultural products and light manufacturing has helped the economy

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 620 square miles (1,600 km2), of which 603 square miles (1,560 km2) is land and 17 square miles (44 km2) (2.7%) is water.

The landscape of Lee County is rolling hills in the northern tip and rich delta flat farmland in the center. Crowley's Ridge runs through the northern tip. The Mississippi River makes up the eastern border of the county, and half of the St. Francis National Forest, the smallest forest in the nation, is situated in the southeastern section with excellent hunting and fishing.  Lee County has 25 lakes and 320 miles of manmade shoreline. The Louisiana Purchase State Park consists of 37.5 acres of headwater swamp.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: St. Francis County
  • Northeast: Crittenden County
  • Southeast: Tunica County, Miss.
  • South: Phillips County
  • Southwest: Monroe County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge