Arkansas Counties
Arkansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Arkansas Counties

The first of the Arkansas' seventy-five present-day counties created, Arkansas County was formed on 13 December 1813, when this area was part of the Missouri Territory.

Lincoln County, Arkansas

Lincoln County Education, Geography, and HistoryLincoln County, Arkansas Courthouse

Lincoln County is a county located in the state of Arkansas. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 14,134. The county seat is Star City. Lincoln County is Arkansas's 65th county, formed on March 28, 1871. The county is named for Abraham Lincoln, the sixteenth President of the United States.

Lincoln County is included in the Pine Bluff, AR Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Little Rock-North Little Rock, AR Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Lincoln County Name

Lincoln county is named for Abraham Lincoln, the sixteenth president of the United States. Abraham Lincoln (February 12, 1809 - April 15, 1865) was the sixteenth President of the United States. He successfully led the country through its greatest internal crisis, the American Civil War, only to be assassinated as the war was coming to an end. Before becoming the first Republican elected to the Presidency, Lincoln was a lawyer, an Illinois state legislator, a member of the United States House of Representatives, and an unsuccessful candidate for election to the Senate.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lincoln County History

Lincoln county was created on March 28, 1871, from parts of Arkansas, Bradley, Desha, Drew and Jefferson counties. The county name is in honor of Abraham Lincoln, the slain United States President. Star City is the county seat.  Small manufacturing gives a great boost to the economy. In May each year, Lincoln County residents sponsor a May's spring fest on the courthouse lawn. Cane Creek State Park provides quality recreational opportunities. The yearly rodeo and county fair bring many visitors to the county. Also, in August, Gould holds its Annual Turtle Derby, featuring its fastest turtles and its prettiest girls. The county is an alcohol prohibition or dry county.


Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 572 square miles (1,480 km2), of which 562 square miles (1,460 km2) is land and 11 square miles (28 km2) (1.9%) is water.

The Landscape of Lincoln County is rolling hills in the west and rich, flat, farmland in the east. Bayou Bartholomew runs through the center of the county, dividing it geographically and agriculturally. In the western part of the county, timber, poultry, tomatoes, cattle, and swine are produced and, to the east, rice, cotton, and beans.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Arkansas County
  • Southeast: Desha County
  • South: Drew County
  • West: Cleveland County
  • Northwest: Jefferson County


School districts include:

  • Dumas Public School District
  • Star City School District

Previously the Gould School District and the Grady School District served portions of the county. On July 1, 2004, the Gould district merged into the Dumas district and the Grady district merged into the Star City district.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge