Arkansas Counties
Arkansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Arkansas Counties

The first of the Arkansas' seventy-five present-day counties created, Arkansas County was formed on 13 December 1813, when this area was part of the Missouri Territory.

Logan County, Arkansas

Logan County Education, Geography, and HistoryLogan County, Arkansas Courthouse

Logan County (formerly Sarber County) is a county located in the state of Arkansas. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 22,353. There are two county seats: Booneville and Paris. Logan county was formed on March 22, 1871, from parts of Franklin, Scott, Johnson and Yell counties. The county is named for James Logan,  pioneer in the area.

Etymology - Origin of Logan County Name

Logan county is named for James Logan, a pioneer in the area. James A. Logan (March 11, 1791 - December 6, 1859) was an early settler of western Arkansas. He also served in Arkansas' first state legislature. He is buried in the Logan family cemetery, near Sugar Grove, Arkansas.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Logan County History

Logan county was formed on March 22, 1871, from parts of Franklin, Scott, Johnson and Yell counties. The county was named to honor James Logan, a pioneer who was in both the territorial and first state legislatures. The county seat is Paris.  Located in the county is Subiaco, a Benedictine abbey that was established in 1878 and thrives today as a monastery and academy for young men, also the courthouse with its impressive columned porticoes on the front and sides with the octagonal clock tower, houses early history of the county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 732 square miles (1,900 km2), of which 708 square miles (1,830 km2) is land and 23 square miles (60 km2) (3.2%) is water. The highest natural point in Arkansas, Magazine Mountain at 2,753 feet (839 m), is located in Logan County.

The landscape of Logan County is rolling farmland, forested ridges, isolated mountains, and lakes. Logan County holds a abundance of natural and scenic beauty including the highest point in Arkansas, Mt. Magazine, which is 2,753 feet high. It rises from the Ozark National Forest where, on a clear day, you can see 40 miles. The mountain is also within the boundaries of the Mt. Magazine Wildlife Management Area. A part of the Ouachita National Forest spread out into the county, making it one of only two counties in the state to include two national forests. Camping, hiking, picnicking, swimming, and many recreational activities are plentiful. Just north of the forest is Blue Mountain Lake, an impoundment on the Petit Jean River, with hunting in addition to water activities.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Johnson County; Pope County
  • Southeast: Yell County
  • Southwest: Scott County
  • West: Sebastian County
  • Northwest: Franklin County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge