Arkansas Counties
Arkansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Arkansas Counties

The first of the Arkansas' seventy-five present-day counties created, Arkansas County was formed on 13 December 1813, when this area was part of the Missouri Territory.

Miller County, Arkansas

Miller County Education, Geography, and HistoryMiller County, Arkansas Courthouse

Miller County is a county located in the southwestern corner of the US state of Arkansas. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 43,462. The county seat is Texarkana.  Miller County was established on April 1, 1820. Miller county is named for James Miller, the first governor of the Arkansas Territory.

Miller County is part of the Texarkana, TX-AR, Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Miller County Name

Miller county is named for James Miller, the first governor of the Arkansas Territory. James Miller (April 25,1776 -  July 7,1851) was a member of the United States House of Representatives from New Hampshire, the first Governor of Arkansas Territory, and a Brigadier General in the United States Army during the War of 1812.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Miller County History

 Miller County was Arkansas's sixth county, established on April 1, 1820, and named for James Miller, the first governor of the Arkansas Territory. In addition, Miller County was the first of the state's counties to be formed upon the creation of the Arkansas Territory. The first five, Arkansas, Lawrence, Clark, Hempstead and Pulaski ? were formed during Arkansas's days as part of the Missouri Territory. The county was abolished in 1838, and later recreated on December 22, 1874 from a portion of neighboring Lafayette County.

In spite of its proximity to Texas (which has no state personal income tax), Miller County residents are not excused from Arkansas's state personal income tax unless they reside within the city limits of Texarkana. Miller County is also one of only two counties in Arkansas (along with Little River County) to be divided from all surrounding counties in the state by the Red River.

Miller county was formed in April 1820, by the Territorial Legislature and abolished in 1838, to be recreated by the state General Assembly from a portion of Lafayette County in December 1874. The county was named both times for James Miller, first Governor of Arkansas Territory. Texarkana is the county seat. Although Texarkana, Arkansas and Texarkana, Texas have separate governments under different states, they have always shared many commercial and cultural interests, which include their Post Office where you can stand with one foot in Arkansas and the other in Texas. The Arkansas portion of the post office is constructed of native limestone and the Texas portion is constructed of granite. The county has a strong industrial community manufacturing area, along with the Red River Army Depot in Texarkana.  Sulphur River Wildlife Management Area, 17,000 acres, provides excellent duck hunting which is a popular sport. The Miller County Courthouse with is stately building holds a great deal of early history of the county. The land on which the courthouse stands was sold to the county for a nominal consideration by the railroad on condition that it is used for a courthouse.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 638 square miles (1,650 km2), of which 626 square miles (1,620 km2) is land and 12 square miles (31 km2) (1.9%) is water.

The landscape of the county is rolling hills, largely forested. The Red River forms the northern and western boundaries and is a favorite place for fishing.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Hempstead County
  • Southeast: Lafayette County; Bossier Parish, La.
  • South: Caddo Parish, La.
  • Southwest: Cass County, Tex.
  • Northwest: Bowie County, Tex.; Little River County


Public education for early childhood, elementary and secondary school students is primarily provided by the following public school districts:

  • Texarkana Arkansas School District, which includes Arkansas High School
  • Fouke School District, which includes Fouke High School
  • Genoa Central School District, which includes Genoa Central High School

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge