Arkansas Counties
Arkansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Arkansas Counties

The first of the Arkansas' seventy-five present-day counties created, Arkansas County was formed on 13 December 1813, when this area was part of the Missouri Territory.

Scott County, Arkansas

Scott County Education, Geography, and HistoryScott County, Arkansas Courthouse

Scott County is a county located in the state of Arkansas. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 11,233. The county seat is Waldron. Scott County was formed on November 5, 1833. The county is named for Andrew Scott, a justice of the Supreme Court of the Arkansas Territory.

Etymology - Origin of Scott County Name

Scott county is named for Andrew Scott, a Territorial judge. Andrew Scott (August 6, 1789 - March 13, 1841) was an American lawyer and politician. He served as a Justice of the Supreme Court for the Arkansas Territory from 1819 until 1825.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Scott County History

Scott county was created on November 5, 1833 from parts of Crawford and Pope Counties, in which the county was named after Andrew Scott, Judge of the Superior Court of Arkansas Territory and a delegate to the state Constitutional Convention of 1836. The county seat is Waldron. The economic base of the county is timber with 82% of the land area in timber of which 62% is US Forest Service owned and 20%is privately owned. Livestock and poultry production along with food processing also helps make up the economic base. There are three lakes, Lake Hinkle, Lake Waldron, and Square Rock Lake, offers great fishing, swimming, camping and a variety of water recreation. Blythe's Museum houses a collection of Indian artifacts and items from the city. Scenic Highway 71B winds down into Waldron, where the county park is located and offers swimming, tennis, softball, and Little League contests. Scott County is well known for its wholesome family entertainment with lots of mountain music. The stately old courthouse, with mistletoe growing in the trees around the courthouse, houses early history of the county and is now undergoing restoration. The new courthouse built in 1996 is the seventh building to house the seat of county government in Scott County. Three of the seven courthouses were destroyed by fire. It is an alcohol-prohibited or dry county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 898 square miles (2,330 km2), of which 892 square miles (2,310 km2) is land and 5.8 square miles (15 km2) (0.6%) is water.

The landscape of Scott County is rugged terrain to rolling terrain in the extreme northwest.

Adjacent counties

  • Sebastian County (northwest)
  • Logan County (northeast)
  • Yell County (east)
  • Montgomery County (southeast)
  • Polk County (south)
  • Le Flore County, Oklahoma (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge