Arkansas Counties
Arkansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Arkansas Counties

The first of the Arkansas' seventy-five present-day counties created, Arkansas County was formed on 13 December 1813, when this area was part of the Missouri Territory.

Stone County, Arkansas

Stone County Education, Geography, and HistoryStone County, Arkansas Courthouse

Stone County is a county located in the state of Arkansas. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 12,394. The county seat is Mountain View. The county was formed on April 21, 1873. Stone county is named for the natural stone formations in the area.

Etymology - Origin of Stone County Name

Stone is named for the many rocks and stones in the area.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Stone County History

Stone county was formed on April 21, 1873, from parts of Izard, Independence, and Searcy and Van Buren counties and was named for the abundant rock formations of the area. The county seat is Mountain View. Stone County is known for two major assets: its mountainous beauty and the culture of its mountain folks. The economic base is poultry, livestock, wood products, and light manufacturing along with tourism. The countryside is as unique as the people. The Ozark National Forest and the Blanchard Spring Caverns are poplar in the area. The Caverns, known as the cave discovery of the century and one of nature's outstanding works of art is still in the process of formation and includes the world's largest flow-stone formation. Two trails guided by knowledgeable Forest Service guides are open to visitors; The Ozark Folk Center is a unique state park. A 637-acre site has an 80-acre entertainment and cultural history complex devoted to preserving Ozark crafts, music, and heritage. It features a lodge, swimming pool, picnicking sites, hiking trails, arts and crafts displays, conference facilities, a restaurant, and a 1,000 seat music auditorium. Every corner of Mountain View rings with mountain music. Many visitors come to Mountain View each year to relax and enjoy the area where the countryside is as unique as the people. It is a dry county, meaning that the sale of alcoholic beverages in any form is prohibited. Though recently, Anglers located by the White River, was granted permission to sell alcoholic beverages in the restaurant.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 609 square miles (1,580 km2), of which 606 square miles (1,570 km2) is land and 3.0 square miles (7.8 km2) (0.5%) is water.

The landscape of the county are the rugged Ozark Mountains.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Izard County
  • East: Independence County
  • Southeast: Cleburne County
  • Southwest: Van Buren County
  • West: Searcy County
  • Northwest: Baxter County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge