Connecticut Counties
Connecticut County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Connecticut Counties

There are currently eight Counties in Connecticut. Four of them were originally created in 1666, during the first consolidation of the colony of Connecticut.  Middlesex and Tolland counties, have been created since American independence, both in 1785.

Connecticut Counties: History and Information

Find a brief history of Connecticut CountiesBrief history of Connecticut Counties: Flags of Our Nation

This is a list of counties in Connecticut. There are currently eight counties in the US state of Connecticut. Four of them were created in 1666, during the first consolidation of the colony of Connecticut from a number of smaller colonies. Two counties were created during colonial times, and two counties, Middlesex and Tolland, were created after American independence (both in 1785). Six of the counties are named for locations in England, where many early Connecticut settlers originated.

Although Connecticut is divided into counties, there is no county government in Connecticut and local government consists of cities and towns. County government was abolished in Connecticut in 1960, although the names remain for geographical purposes. Counties are, however, still used by the state to organize its judicial and state marshal system. Connecticut's court jurisdictions still adhere to the county boundaries, except for Fairfield, Hartford and New Haven, which have been further subdivided into several jurisdictions.

Find a brief history of Connecticut Counties
County Without
Government Structure
County Seat Created
Fairfield County 882,567 626 Bridgeport 1666
Hartford County 857,183 736 Hartford 1666
Litchfield County 182,193 920 Litchfield 1751
Middlesex County 155,071 369 Middletown 1785
New Haven County 824,008 606 New Haven 1666
New London County 259,088 666 New London 1666
Tolland County 136,364 410 Rockville 1785
Windham County 109,091 513 Willimantic 1726

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge