Iowa Counties
Iowa County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Iowa Counties

There are ninety-nine counties in Iowa. The first two counties, Des Moines County and Dubuque County, were created in 1834 when Iowa was still part of the Michigan Territory. In preparation for Michigan's statehood, part of Michigan Territory was formed into Wisconsin Territory in 1836]. Two years later, the western portion was split off to become Iowa Territory. The south-eastern part of Iowa Territory became Iowa, the 29th state in the union, on 28 December 1846, by which point 44 Counties had been created. Counties continued to be created by the state government until 1857, when the last county, Humboldt County, was created.

Chickasaw County, Iowa

Chickasaw County Education, Geography, and HistoryChickasaw County, Iowa Courthouse

Chickasaw County is a county located in the state of Iowa. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 12,439. Chickasaw County was created on January 15, 1851. The county seat is New Hampton. The county is named for the southern Indian Nation whose chief was Bradford.

Etymology - Origin of Chickasaw County Name

Chickasaw county is named for the Chickasaw Native American tribe.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Chickasaw County History

The county is named for the prominent Indian nation in the south. The county was established in 1851 and originated in 1853.

The county seat in the early stages of the county was located at Bradford, named after the chief of the Chickasaw Indian tribe. A plain log cabin, erected at a cost of $1,840, was used as the first courthouse. In the spring of 1857 the county seat was moved to New Hampton, a town more centrally located in the county. Following this there were several attempts to remove the county seat from New Hampton. Some county seat bidders were Fredericksburg, Bradford, and Forest City. All were unsuccessful in gaining the county seat.

In 1865 the first courthouse in New Hampton was completed. In 1876 an addition was completed on this building. The entire building was totally destroyed in a fire on March 26, 1880. Many irreplaceable documents were lost, but many more were saved with the help of the "Hook & Ladder Co.," and concerned citizens. With the help of a falling mist and buckets of water, the fire was finally extinguished, with total losses estimated at $2,000.

Due to towns fighting over the location of the county seat, it was not until 1881 that the central portion of a new courthouse was completed at New Hampton. The third courthouse cost $10,500 to complete; New Hampton paid $5,000 of the cost. The building was made of brick and stone. The inside was trimmed with black walnut and ash. In 1905 a wing was added on at a cost of $4,219, and one year later a second wing was completed with a cost of $200.

The current courthouse was completed in 1929 at a cost of $134,000. Architects for the courthouse were Ralston and Ralston of Waterloo, and it was constructed by Tarazar Construction Co. of Albert Lea, Minnesota.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 506 square miles (1,310 km2), of which 504 square miles (1,310 km2) is land and 1.3 square miles (3.4 km2) (0.3%) is water.

Chickasaw county is located in northeast Iowa.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Howard County
  • Northeast: Winneshiek County
  • Southeast: Fayette County
  • South: Bremer County
  • Southwest: Butler County
  • West: Floyd County
  • Northwest: Mitchell County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge