Iowa Counties
Iowa County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Iowa Counties

There are ninety-nine counties in Iowa. The first two counties, Des Moines County and Dubuque County, were created in 1834 when Iowa was still part of the Michigan Territory. In preparation for Michigan's statehood, part of Michigan Territory was formed into Wisconsin Territory in 1836]. Two years later, the western portion was split off to become Iowa Territory. The south-eastern part of Iowa Territory became Iowa, the 29th state in the union, on 28 December 1846, by which point 44 Counties had been created. Counties continued to be created by the state government until 1857, when the last county, Humboldt County, was created.

Jones County, Iowa

Jones County Education, Geography, and HistoryJones County, Iowa Courthouse

Jones County is a county located in the state of Iowa. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 20,638 The county was created in 1837. The county seat is Anamosa. Jones county is named after George Wallace Jones, a United States Senator and member of Congress.

Jones County is included in the Cedar Rapids, IA Metropolitan Statistical Area

Etymology - Origin of Jones County Name

Jones county is named for George Wallace Jones, a United States senator from Iowa.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Jones County History

Jones County is named in honor of George Wallace Jones, U. S. surveyor, 1st delegate to Congress from Wisconsin Territory, and U. S. senator from Iowa.

Jones County was established in 1837 and originated from 1838-1847. The county has had three county seats, the first of these being Edinburgh. A small log cabin was built and used as a courthouse. Although it was the county seat, the town showed no signs of growth. Angered at having a "city of grass" as a county seat, the citizens voted to remove the county seat to one of two places- Newport or Dale's Ford. Newport was selected as either a joke or due to political maneuvering, because no courthouse was ever built there nor was any court ever held there.

The town of Lexington was selected as the third county seat in a spring 1847 election. Lexington was later renamed Anamosa, after the daughter of Winnebago Chief Nas-i-nus.

County business was conducted in private homes until a courthouse was constructed in 1848. It was a simple two-story frame structure costing $800 to complete. This building was used until 1864, when all of the county records were moved uptown to a new brick building owned by H. C. Metcalf. Following this, the county conducted business in rent-free rooms. In 1935 the county finally approved the construction of a real courthouse. Total cost, some of which was paid via a federal grant, was $200,000. This building was dedicated on September 10, 1937, and 55 years later is still serving Jones County.

A memorial honoring Jones County residents who died while serving our country was installed on the east lawn of the court house and dedicated on Memorial Day, 2002. Engraved in the black granite memorial are the names of Jones County residents who died while serving in the armed forces, beginning with World War I. Flags from the five branches of the armed services surround the memorial. The project was designed and funded entirely by two local veteran's groups.

Source: Janine Sulzner, Jones County Auditor

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 577 square miles (1,490 km2), of which 576 square miles (1,490 km2) is land and 1.4 square miles (3.6 km2) (0.2%) is water.

Jones county is located in east Iowa. Wapsipinicon River is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Dubuque County
  • East: Jackson County
  • Southeast: Clinton County
  • South: Cedar County
  • West: Linn County
  • Northwest: Delaware County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge