New Jersey Counties
New Jersey County map
Click Image to Enlarge

New Jersey Counties

New Jersey has twenty-one counties. New Jersey's first counties were created as administrative districts within each province, with East Jersey split in 1675 into Bergen, Essex, Middlesex and Monmouth counties, while West Jersey's initial counties of Burlington and Salem date to 1681. The most recent county created in New Jersey was Union County, created in 1857.

Burlington County, New Jersey

Burlington County Education, Geography, and HistoryBurlington County, New Jersey Courthouse

Burlington County is a county located in the state of New Jersey. The county is the largest in New Jersey by area, and its county seat is Mount Holly Township. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 448,734. Anglo-European records of Burlington County date to 1681, when its court was established in the Province of West Jersey. The county was formed on May 17, 1694, "by the union of the first and second Tenths." The county seat had been in Burlington but, as the population increased in the interior, away from the Delaware River, a more central location was needed, and the seat of government was moved to Mount Holly in 1793

Etymology - Origin of Burlington County Name

The county was named for the Bridlington, a town in England. The township's name is a corruption of the English town of Bridlington.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Burlington County History

Burlington County's historic Court House in Mount Holly was built in 1796 and considered one of the finest examples of early American architecture in the country, is truly indicative of the historic lore that surrounds it. Although officially incorporated on May 17, 1694, the rudiments of county government were established with Burlington County on March 25, 1681 and were in effect before William Penn laid out the city of Philadelphia. The Lenni-Lenape Indians were the aboriginal owners of the county. In October, 1677 a group of English debarked from the ship Kent and founded the town of Burlington. The American Indians sold more and more of their lands to the new settlers until finally, in 1801, there remained less than 100 adult American Indians on the Indian Mills reservation, which was the first American Indian reservation in the United States and the American Indian's last dwelling place in Burlington County.

Geography: Land and Water

According to the 2010 Census, the county had a total area of 819.84 square miles (2,123.4 km2), including 798.58 square miles (2,068.3 km2) of land (97.4%) and 21.26 square miles (55.1 km2) of water (2.6%)

Burlington County is the largest county in New Jersey covering 827 square miles. According to the Population Estimates Program, Population Division of the US Bureau of the Census, the estimated population of Burlington County is 450,743 as of 2005. The land ranges 524,160 acres bordered by Mercer County from the north, Monmouth County from the northeast, Ocean County from the east, Atlantic County from the southwest, and Camden County to the west. The land extends from the Delaware River and the Great Bay on the Atlantic Ocean. The total area is 529,351 acres including 5,191 acres of water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Mercer County from the north
  •  Monmouth County from the northeast
  • Ocean County from the east
  • Atlantic County from the southwest
  • Camden County to the west.


Burlington County College is a two-year public community college serving students from Burlington County. The school, located at campuses in Pemberton and Mount Laurel and was founded in 1966 and opened to students in 1969

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge