Oklahoma Counties
Oklahoma County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Oklahoma Counties

There are seventy-seven counties in Oklahoma. Oklahoma originally had seven counties when it was first organized as the Oklahoma Territory. These counties were designated numerically, first through seventh. New counties added after this were designated by letters of the alphabet. The first seven counties were later renamed. The Oklahoma Constitutional Convention named all of the counties that were formed when Oklahoma entered statehood in 1907. Only two counties have been formed since then

Choctaw County, Oklahoma

Choctaw County Education, Geography, and History

Choctaw County, Oklahoma Courthouse

Choctaw County is a county located in the state of Oklahoma. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 15,205. Its county seat is Hugo. The county was created in 1907, at the time of Oklahoma statehood. According to the Encyclopedia of Oklahoma History and Culture, the name is derived from Chahta, the mythical founder of the Choctaw people.

Etymology - Origin of Choctaw County Name

Named from the Indian tribe. The name is supposed to have been corrupted from "Chato," meaning flat heads, because of an ancient tribal custom to flatten the skulls of children by imposing a weight on the head.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Choctaw County History

The Choctaw Nation moved into the area now occupied by Choctaw County in 1831 - 32, as a result of their forcible expulsion from the Southeastern United States. The U. S. Army had already established Fort Towson in the area in 1824, and took on the mission of protecting the newcomers from other tribes. In 1837, the Chickasaws settled the area around Doaksville, which was adjacent to the fort. Both the town of Fort Towson and Doaksville served as the capital of the Choctaw Nation. Doaksville became a ghost town after the Civil War. In 1848, the Presbyterian church established a mission, which still exists and is now known as Goodland Academy.

The St. Louis and San Francisco Railway built a line through the town of Hugo in 1902, causing the town to become a commercial center for the region. Before statehood, the area of Choctaw County was part of Jackson, Kiamichi, Cedar, and Towson counties, Choctaw Nation. When Oklahoma became a state in 1907, Choctaw County was created and Hugo was named the county seat.

Oklahoma History Center
Choctaw County derives its name from "Chahta," the mythical founder of the Choctaw tribe. Containing a total land and water area of 800.68 square miles, the county is bordered by McCurtain County on the east, Bryan County on the west, Pushmataha and Atoka counties on the north, and the Red River and Texas on the south. The major water feature in Choctaw County is the Kiamichi River, which drains northwest to southeast into the Red River. The Muddy Boggy and Clear Boggy rivers (creeks) also drain into the Red. The county lies in the Coastal Plains physiographic region. US Highway 70 passes east-west through the incorporated towns of Swink, Fort Towson, Sawyer, Hugo, Soper, and Boswell, and US Highway 271 traverses north-south from west of Grant to Hugo (county seat) and north to Antlers in Pushmataha County....CHOCTAW COUNTY

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 800 square miles (2,100 km2), of which 770 square miles (2,000 km2) is land and 29 square miles (75 km2) (3.7%) is water.

The major streams in the county are the Kiamichi River, the Muddy Boggy River and the Clear Boggy River, which all drain into the Red River. Lakes include Hugo Lake, on the Kiamichi River, and Raymond Gary Lake

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Pushmataha County (north)
  • McCurtain County (east)
  • Red River County, Texas (southeast)
  • Lamar County, Texas (south)
  • Bryan County (west)
  • Atoka County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge