Oklahoma Counties
Oklahoma County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Oklahoma Counties

There are seventy-seven counties in Oklahoma. Oklahoma originally had seven counties when it was first organized as the Oklahoma Territory. These counties were designated numerically, first through seventh. New counties added after this were designated by letters of the alphabet. The first seven counties were later renamed. The Oklahoma Constitutional Convention named all of the counties that were formed when Oklahoma entered statehood in 1907. Only two counties have been formed since then

Cotton County, Oklahoma

Cotton County Education, Geography, and History

Cotton County, Oklahoma Courthouse

Cotton County is a county located in the state of Oklahoma. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 6,193. Its county seat is Walters. When Oklahoma achieved statehood in 1907, the area which is now Cotton County fell within the boundaries of Comanche County. It was split off in 1912, becoming the last county created in Oklahoma; it was named for the county's primary crop.

Cotton County is included in the Lawton, OK Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Cotton County Name

Named from one of the county's staple crops.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Cotton County History

The eastern part of what is now Cotton County was opened to settlement by non-native Americans by the 1901 Kiowa-Comanche-Apache Opening, which distributed land by a lottery system. In 1906, the remainder of the present county, then known as the Big Pasture was opened through a sealed bid process. Most of this territory became part of Comanche County at statehood in 1907.

In 1910, residents of the present Cotton County area tried to form a new county, named "Swanson County," but this effort failed in 1911. Another effort in 1912 succeeded. This time, residents elected to split from Comanche County and name the new county "Cotton County," for the primary crop in the region at the time. Randlett, Oklahoma was assigned as a temporary county seat, until a November 4, 1912 election made Walters, Oklahoma the permanent location

Oklahoma History Center
Located in southwestern Oklahoma, Cotton County is bordered by the Red River on the south, with Tillman County on the west, Comanche County on the north, and Stephens and Jefferson counties on the east. The topography is typical of a plains environment, with a mixture of grasses prevalent. The western edge of the Cross Timbers invades the county's eastern portion. The creeks and streams, including Cache Creek, drain to the southeast into the Red River. Cotton County has 641.94 square miles of land and water....COTTON COUNTY

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 642 square miles (1,660 km2), of which 633 square miles (1,640 km2) is land and 9.3 square miles (24 km2) (1.4%) is water.

The eastern portion of the county is in the Cross Timbers region. Its creeks and streams drain to the southeast into the Red River, which borders the county on the south.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Comanche County (north)
  • Stephens County (northeast)
  • Jefferson County (southeast)
  • Clay County, Texas (south)
  • Wichita County, Texas (southwest)
  • Tillman County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge