Oklahoma Counties
Oklahoma County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Oklahoma Counties

There are seventy-seven counties in Oklahoma. Oklahoma originally had seven counties when it was first organized as the Oklahoma Territory. These counties were designated numerically, first through seventh. New counties added after this were designated by letters of the alphabet. The first seven counties were later renamed. The Oklahoma Constitutional Convention named all of the counties that were formed when Oklahoma entered statehood in 1907. Only two counties have been formed since then

Creek County, Oklahoma

Creek County Education, Geography, and History

Creek County, Oklahoma Courthouse

Creek County is a county located in the state of Oklahoma. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 69,967. Its county seat is Sapulpa.

Creek County is part of the Tulsa, OK Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Creek County Name

Named for the Creek Indian tribe. This tribe divides honors with William H. Murray, president of the Constitutional Convention, in that two counties were named for it, namely, Creek and Muskogee.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Creek County History

European explorers traveled through this area early in the 19th Century, after the Louisiana Purchase. In 1825, the Osage Nation ceded the territory where the Federal Government planned to resettle the Creek Nation and other tribes after their expulsion from the Southeastern part of the United States. The Creeks began migrating into this area, where they and their black slaves settled to begin farming and raising cattle. In 1835, Federal soldiers under Captain J. L. Dawson built the Dawson Road, following an old Osage hunting trail.

Railroads gave an important boost to the local economy. In 1886, the Atlantic and Pacific Railroad built a line from Red Fork to Sapulpa. In 1898, the St. Louis and Oklahoma City Railway connected Sapulpa and Oklahoma City.

The present Creek County was established at the time of statehood, with a population of 18,365. The town of Sapulpa was initially designated as the county seat. This decision was challenged by supporters of the town of Bristow. An election held August 12, 1908 to choose a permanent seat was won by Sapulpa, but the dispute did not end there. After a series of court cases, the Oklahoma Supreme Court ruled in favor of Sapulpa on August 1, 1913.

Oklahoma History Center
Located in east-central Oklahoma, Creek County is bordered by Pawnee County on the north, Tulsa and Okmulgee counties on the east, Okfuskee County on the south, and Lincoln and Payne counties on the west. Moman Pruiett, special delegate to the 1906 Oklahoma Constitutional Convention, wanted to name the county Moman, in honor of his mother. However, when the county was established at 1907 statehood, it was named for the Creek tribe. Formerly part of the Creek Nation, Indian Territory, the county lies within the Sandstone Hills physiographic region. With 969.77 square miles of land and water, the county is drained by the Cimarron River, tributaries of the Arkansas River, and the Deep Fork and the Little Deep Fork of the North Canadian River....CREEK COUNTY

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 970 square miles (2,500 km2), of which 950 square miles (2,500 km2) is land and 20 square miles (52 km2) (2.0%) is water.

It is drained by the Cimarron River, and the Deep Fork and Little Deep Fork of the North Canadian River. Heyburn Lake is contained within the County. Keystone Lake is partially within Creek County.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Pawnee County (north)
  • Tulsa County (east)
  • Okmulgee County (southeast)
  • Okfuskee County (south)
  • Lincoln County (west)
  • Payne County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge