Oklahoma Counties
Oklahoma County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Oklahoma Counties

There are seventy-seven counties in Oklahoma. Oklahoma originally had seven counties when it was first organized as the Oklahoma Territory. These counties were designated numerically, first through seventh. New counties added after this were designated by letters of the alphabet. The first seven counties were later renamed. The Oklahoma Constitutional Convention named all of the counties that were formed when Oklahoma entered statehood in 1907. Only two counties have been formed since then

Garfield County, Oklahoma

Garfield County Education, Geography, and History

Garfield County, Oklahoma Courthouse

Garfield County is a county located in the state of Oklahoma. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 60,580. Enid is the county seat and largest city within Garfield County. The county is named after President James A. Garfield.

Garfield County comprises the Enid, OK Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Garfield County Name

Named for President James A. Garfield.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Garfield County History

Prior to the Land Run of 1893, Garfield County was named O County and was part of the Cherokee Outlet, occupied by the Cherokee people following the Treaty of New Echota and the Cherokee trail of tears. Historically, the area was a hunting ground for the Wichita, Osage, and Kiowa tribes.

Oklahoma History Center
Located in north-central Oklahoma, Garfield County is bounded on the north by Grant County, on the east by Noble County, on the south by Logan and Kingfisher counties, and on the west by Major and Alfalfa counties. Comprised of 1,059.94 square miles of land and water, Garfield County lies within the Red Bed Plains physiographic region. The county is drained by Black Bear, Boggy, Red Rock, Rock, Skeleton, and Turkey creeks. Named for Pres. James A. Garfield, the county is noted for its wheat production. At the turn of the twenty-first century incorporated towns included Breckinridge, Carrier, Covington, Douglas, Drummond, Fairmont, Garber, Hillsdale, Hunter, Kremlin, Lahoma, Waukomis, North Enid, and Enid, the county seat....GARFIELD COUNTY

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,060 square miles (2,700 km2), of which 1,058 square miles (2,740 km2) is land and 1.6 square miles (4.1 km2) (0.2%) is water.

Several creeks run through the county, including Black Bear, Boggy, Red Rock, Rock, Skeleton, and Turkey.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Grant County (north)
  • Noble County (east)
  • Logan County (southeast)
  • Kingfisher County (south)
  • Major County (west)
  • Alfalfa County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge