Oklahoma Counties
Oklahoma County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Oklahoma Counties

There are seventy-seven counties in Oklahoma. Oklahoma originally had seven counties when it was first organized as the Oklahoma Territory. These counties were designated numerically, first through seventh. New counties added after this were designated by letters of the alphabet. The first seven counties were later renamed. The Oklahoma Constitutional Convention named all of the counties that were formed when Oklahoma entered statehood in 1907. Only two counties have been formed since then

Harmon County, Oklahoma

Harmon County Education, Geography, and History

Harmon County, Oklahoma Courthouse

Harmon County is a county located in the southwest corner of the state of Oklahoma. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 2,922, making it the second-least populous county in Oklahoma, behind only Cimarron County. It has lost population in every census since the first in 1910, except 1930. The county seat is Hollis.

Etymology - Origin of Harmon County Name

Named for Judson Harmon, attorney general under President Cleveland and later governor of Ohio. Harmon county was originally a part of Greer County and when Greer was annexed to Oklahoma it was at the Attorney General Harmon's suggestions that the settlers were permitted to buy an additional quarter section of land adjoining their homesteds at a nominal price. It was in remembrance of this friendly act on his part that some of the early settlers later caused the county to be named in his honor.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Harmon County History

Following an election on May 22, 1909, Harmon County was created by proclamation of Governor Lee Cruce on June 2. Carved from adjacent Greer County, the new county was named in honor of Judson Harmon, who was Governor of Ohio at the time. The area now covered by Harmon County had been a part of Texas until the U. S. Supreme Court awarded it to Oklahoma Territory in 1896.

Another election held September 1, 1909, confirmed Hollis as the county seat. There were two other contestants: the towns of Harmon and Rosser. County offices operated in rented space until a courthouse was built in Hollis in 1926. In 1930, the US Supreme Court ruled that the boundary between Texas and Oklahoma was actually 3,800 feet (1,200 m) farther east than originally believed. It returned the disputed land to Texas, reducing the county's area to its present size.

Oklahoma History Center
Located in far southwestern Oklahoma, Harmon County is bordered by Beckham County on the north, Greer County on the northeast, Jackson County on the southeast, the state of Texas on the west, and the Red River (Texas) on the south. Named for Judson Harmon, of Ohio and US attorney general during Pres. Grover Cleveland's administration, Harmon County was established in 1909 and Hollis designated as the county seat. Situated in the Gypsum Hills physiographic region, it is drained by the Red River and its tributaries, the Salt and Elm forks of the Red River and Lebos and Turkey creeks....HARMON COUNTY

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 539 square miles (1,400 km2), of which 537 square miles (1,390 km2) is land and 1.5 square miles (3.9 km2) (0.3%) is water.

It lies in the Gypsum Hills physiographic region, and is drained by the Red River and its tributaries, the Salt and Elm forks of the Red River and Lebos and Turkey creeks.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Beckham County (north)
  • Greer County (northeast)
  • Jackson County (southeast)
  • Hardeman County, Texas (south)
  • Childress County, Texas (west)
  • Collingsworth County, Texas (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge