Oklahoma Counties
Oklahoma County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Oklahoma Counties

There are seventy-seven counties in Oklahoma. Oklahoma originally had seven counties when it was first organized as the Oklahoma Territory. These counties were designated numerically, first through seventh. New counties added after this were designated by letters of the alphabet. The first seven counties were later renamed. The Oklahoma Constitutional Convention named all of the counties that were formed when Oklahoma entered statehood in 1907. Only two counties have been formed since then

Love County, Oklahoma

Love County Education, Geography, and History

Love County, Oklahoma Courthouse

Love County is a county located on the southern border of the state of Oklahoma. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 9,423. Its county seat is Marietta. The county was created at statehood in 1907 and named for Overton Love, a prominent Chickasaw farmer, entrepreneur and politician.

Love County is part of the Ardmore, OK Micropolitan Statistical Area. It is also a part of the Texoma region.

Etymology - Origin of Love County Name

Named for a prominent Chickasaw family and especially in honor of one member, Overton Love, popularly known as "Sobe" Love.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Love County History

The Louisiana Purchase, effected in 1803, included all of the present state of Oklahoma except the Panhandle. Explorers and traders began travelling extensively through the area, intending to find trade routes to Santa Fe. The Quapaw were the principal native Americans living south of the Canadian River. The Quapaws ceded their land to the American government in 1818, and were replaced by the Choctaws in the early 1830s. The Chickasaws were assigned land in the middle of Choctaw territory during 1837-8.

Overton Love was one of the earliest Chickasaws who settled in present-day Love County. He was twenty years old when he arrived in Indian Territory from Mississippi in 1843. His settlement became known as Love's Valley (about 6 miles (9.7 km) east of the present town of Marietta). He later became one of the largest Chickasaw landowners and cattle raisers in the area, working 8,000 acres (3,200 ha) of Red River Bottomland.. Eventually, he became a member of both houses of the Chickasaw National Council, a county and district judge, and a member of the Dawes Commission.

Prior to statehood, the area now known as Love County was part of Pickens County, Chickasaw Nation, Indian Territory. It had three incorporated towns: Marietta (the county seat, founded in 1887), Leon (established 1883) and Thackerville (established 1882). It also contained two unincorporated postal areas: Burneyville (post office established 1879) and Overbrook (post office established 1887). The settlement of Courtney at the mouth of Mud Creek was settled ca. 1872 by Henry D. Courtney.

Oklahoma History Center
Established at 1907 statehood Love County was originally known as Recording District Number 26, Pickens County, Chickasaw Nation, Indian Territory. Located in the southern part of Oklahoma it is bordered on the south by Texas and the Red River, on the north by Carter County, on the east by Marshall County, and on the west by Jefferson County. It is composed of 531.94 square miles of land and water with three incorporated towns: Marietta (the county seat), Leon (established 1883) and Thackerville (established 1882), and two unincorporated postal areas: Burneyville (post office established 1879) and Overbrook (post office established 1887).

Love County lies within the Red River Plains physiographic region. The topography is rolling to hilly, and the Red River and its tributaries drain the entire area. Principal tributaries are the Simon Creek, Hickory Creek, Walnut Bayou, and Mud Creek with the drainage being to the southeast. Early-day Love County teemed with wildlife including buffalo, elk, antelope, wild turkey, prairie chickens, wolves, coyotes, and bears. Lakes Murray and Texoma touch the northeastern and southern county boundaries, respectively....LOVE COUNTY

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 532 square miles (1,380 km2), of which 514 square miles (1,330 km2) is land and 18 square miles (47 km2) (3.5%) is water.

It is the fifth-smallest county in Oklahoma by land area.

Love County is within the Red River Plains physiographic region, with a rolling to hilly topography. The Red River and its tributaries Simon Creek, Walnut Bayou, Hickory Creek and Mud Creek drain the county. Lake Murray is on the northeastern border and Lake Texoma is on the southern border.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Carter County (north)
  • Marshall County (east)
  • Cooke County, Texas (south)
  • Montague County, Texas (southwest)
  • Jefferson County (northwest)


The following school districts are located in Love County:

Greenville Public Schools
Marietta Public Schools
Thackerville Public Schools
Turner Public Schools

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge