Oklahoma Counties
Oklahoma County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Oklahoma Counties

There are seventy-seven counties in Oklahoma. Oklahoma originally had seven counties when it was first organized as the Oklahoma Territory. These counties were designated numerically, first through seventh. New counties added after this were designated by letters of the alphabet. The first seven counties were later renamed. The Oklahoma Constitutional Convention named all of the counties that were formed when Oklahoma entered statehood in 1907. Only two counties have been formed since then

Washington County, Oklahoma

Washington County Education, Geography, and History

Washington County, Oklahoma Courthouse

Washington County is a county located in the northeastern part of the state of Oklahoma. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 50,976. Its county seat is Bartlesville. Named for President George Washington, it is the smallest county in Oklahoma in total area, adjacent to the largest county in Oklahoma, Osage County.

Washington County comprises the Bartlesville, OK Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Tulsa-Muskogee-Bartlesville, OK Combined Statistical Area. It is located along the border with Kansas.

Etymology - Origin of Washington County Name

Named for President George Washington.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Washington County History

The Osage ceded their land claims in 1825, and the Federal Government allowed the Western Cherokee to settle in this area in 1828. The 1835 Treaty of New Echota confirmed Cherokee ownership of the land. The area now covered by Washington County was part of the Cherokee Saline District between 1840 to 1856 and the Cooweescoowee District from 1856 to 1906

Oklahoma History Center
Located in northeastern Oklahoma, Washington County contains a total land and water area of 424.15 square miles, making it the state's smallest county. It is bordered by Nowata and Rogers counties on the east, Tulsa County to the south, Osage County on the west, and the state of Kansas to the north. Named for US Pres. George Washington, Washington County was created at 1907 statehood. The incorporated towns are Bartlesville (the county seat), Copan, Dewey, Ochelata, Ramona, and Vera. US Highway 60 runs east-west through the county and intersects US Highway 75, a north-south thoroughfare, at Bartlesville. State Highway 123 extends southwestward from Dewey to near Barnsdall in Osage County.

Washington County lies in the Eastern Lowlands physiographic region. The south- to southeastward-flowing Caney River and its tributaries drain the county. In April 1983 the US Army Corps of Engineers completed the Copan Dam on the Little Caney River, creating Copan Lake, the county's largest reservoir. Other bodies of water include natural Silver Lake and Bar-Dew Lake, a 1930s Works Progress Administration project....WASHINGTON COUNTY

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 424 square miles (1,100 km2), of which 415 square miles (1,070 km2) is land and 8.8 square miles (23 km2) (2.1%) is water. It is the second-smallest county in Oklahoma by land area and smallest by total area. It lies in the Eastern Lowlands physiographic region, and is drained by the Caney River. Lakes and reservoirs include Copan Lake, Silver Lake and Bar-Dew Lake.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Montgomery County, Kansas (north)
  • Nowata County (east)
  • Rogers County (southeast)
  • Tulsa County (south)
  • Osage County (west)
  • Chautauqua County, Kansas (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge