Wisconsin Counties
Wisconsin County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wisconsin Counties

There are seventy-two counties in the state of Wisconsin. Wisconsin became part of the Territory of Michigan and divided into two counties: Brown County in the northeast along Lake Michigan and Crawford County in the southwest along the Mississippi River. The state of Wisconsin was created from Wisconsin Territory on May 29, 1848, with 28 counties.

Barron County, Wisconsin

Barron County Education, Geography, and History

Barron County, Wisconsin Courthouse

Barron County is a county located in the state of Wisconsin. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 45,870. Its county seat is Barron. The county was created in 1859 and later organized in 1874

Etymology - Origin of Barron County Name

1) In honor of Henry D. Barron, of St. Croix Falls, Wis., judge of the eigth judicial circuit. Formerly named Dallas, in honor of George Miflin Dallas, Vice President of the United States (1845-49). 2) "Judge H.D. Barron told me the county was named after a Mr. Barron, a lumberman residing at Chippewa Falls but operating quite heavily in what is now Barron Co. I don't think that he said this to be modest. He would have been more likely to claim the distinction." - Nils P. Haugen

[Source: 1) Chippewa Valley, p.311 2) Wis. Hist. Colls., ix, pp.405-409]


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Barron County History

British explorers first claimed this area and French explorers set up an early trading post at Rice Lake dealing with the Sioux Indians. It was claimed by the US in 1787 as part of the Northwest Territory and later became part of the Territory of Wisconsin. This area was at that time part of Crawford County and in 1840 was annexed to St. Croix County. In 1859 Dallas County was established and it became Barron County in 1869. Named after a prominent Wisconsin pioneer, it is a surveyed county, that is, its borders are set up by survey rather than by natural boundaries.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 890 square miles (2,305 km2), of which, 863 square miles (2,235 km2) of it is land and 27 square miles (70 km2) of it (3.05%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Washburn County - north
  • Sawyer County - northeast
  • Rusk County - east
  • Chippewa County - southeast
  • Dunn County - south
  • St. Croix County - southwest
  • Polk County - west
  • Burnett County - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge