Wisconsin Counties
Wisconsin County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wisconsin Counties

There are seventy-two counties in the state of Wisconsin. Wisconsin became part of the Territory of Michigan and divided into two counties: Brown County in the northeast along Lake Michigan and Crawford County in the southwest along the Mississippi River. The state of Wisconsin was created from Wisconsin Territory on May 29, 1848, with 28 counties.

Green County, Wisconsin

Green County Education, Geography, and History

Green County, Wisconsin Courthouse

Green County is a county located in the state of Wisconsin. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 36,842. Its county seat is Monroe.

Green County is included in the Madison WI Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Green County Name

Originally part of a larger county called Iowa (not to be confused with the state). Named by the legislature of Wisconsin territory, approved Dec.8, 1836.

[Source: Butterfield, History of Green Co.]


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Green County History

Description from John W. Hunt's 1853 Wisconsin Gazetteer: "GREEN, County, is bounded on the north by Dane, on the east by Rock, on the south by the State line, and on the west by Iowa and Lafayette, and is 4 townships, or 24 miles square. It was set off from Iowa, Dec. 7, 1836... The seat of justice is at Monroe, about 7 miles south from the centre of the county. The soil in the northern part is generally a sandy loam, and in the south mostly prairie, with a subsoil of clay, and is very productive, being adapted to all the purposes of tillage and grazing. It is well watered by the Peckatonnica and Sugar rivers and their branches, and is well apportioned between meadow, prairie and timbered lands. The mineral region extends east nearly through this county, and several valuable lodes are being worked. The population in 1840 was 933; 1842, 1,594; 1846, 4,758; 1847, 6,487; 1850, 8,583. Dwellings, 1,487; farms, 805; manufactories, 46."

GREEN.--Population 14,716.
From: Handbook of Wisconsin by S. Silas, 1855
pg. 73-75

Lying in the southern part of the State, and bordering on Illinois. The County is mostly prairie, with openings, a good agricultural country, whose resources are rapidly developing Groves of timber are found in various portions; there being quite a heavy growth in the western part. There is but little Government land to be had. The following, from the Sentinel, published at Monroe, the County Seat, gives a fair account of the present situation of Green County:

"The resources and true value of Green County are just beginning to be developed. The water power on Sugar River is only beginning to be improved. At Dayton, and Attica in Brooklyn, there are good mills. Sugar River affords excellent mill privileges to that section of the country, and to such as are seeking a pleasant and healthy location, we have no hesitation in recommending the northern part of Green County. Improvements are being made there in farms, dwellings, mills, and school-houses; and more than all that, it is being settled with an intelligent, industrious and enterprising people, such as are sure, in due time, to make a country prosperous and wealthy.

"There have been large quantities of mineral raised in it, and there is undoubtedly much more to be obtained when a systematic mode of mining is introduced; but true wealth is in the rich soil, which, when properly cultivated, yields a large remuneration; and as a stock growing County, this is probably not excelled in the State."

Monroe is the County Seat, near the center of the County, and has a population of 2,120.

The Southern Wisconsin passes through the center of the County, and Mineral Point Rail Road through the south-west corner.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 585 square miles (1,514 km2), of which, 584 square miles (1,513 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (2 km2) of it (0.10%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Dane County, Wisconsin - north
  • Rock County, Wisconsin - east
  • Winnebago County, Illinois - southeast
  • Stephenson County, Illinois - south
  • Lafayette County, Wisconsin - west
  • Iowa County, Wisconsin - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge