Wisconsin Counties
Wisconsin County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wisconsin Counties

There are seventy-two counties in the state of Wisconsin. Wisconsin became part of the Territory of Michigan and divided into two counties: Brown County in the northeast along Lake Michigan and Crawford County in the southwest along the Mississippi River. The state of Wisconsin was created from Wisconsin Territory on May 29, 1848, with 28 counties.

Jackson County, Wisconsin

Jackson County Education, Geography, and History

Jackson County, Wisconsin Courthouse

Jackson County is a county located in the state of Wisconsin. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 20,449. Its county seat is Black River Falls. Jackson County was formed from Crawford County in 1853. It was named for President Andrew Jackson.

Etymology - Origin of Jackson County Name

Jackson County was named in honor of President Andrew Jackson - Gannett, Place Names, p. 145.

[Source: Kellogg, Louise Phelps. "Derivation of County Names" in Proceedings of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin for 1909, pages 219-231.]


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Jackson County History

Jackson County is a county located in the US state of Wisconsin. As of 2000, the population was 19,100. Its county seat is Black River FallsJackson County was formed from Crawford County in 1853.

John W. Hunt's 1853 Wisconsin Gazetteer

 "JACKSON, County, was set off from La Crosse at the January session of the legislature in 1853, and includes all of said county of La Crosse, north of town 18. The seat of justice is at the village of Black River Falls, on Black river. In this county about 15,000,000 feet of pine lumber is sawed annually. For further particulars, see La Crosse county."

From: Handbook of Wisconsin by S. Silas, 1855
pg. 76

Jackson Country is watered by Black River and its tributaries, which afford abundance of water power. The southern part is mostly prairie--the northern abounds in pine, which is floated down Black River. The land is represented to be of the best quality, and the County is rapidly filling with settlers.

Iron ore is found in abundance, and the mines will soon be worked.

Black River Falls, the Country Seat, has an excellent water power. A large amount of lumber is manufactured yearly at this point, and mills and machine shops are under process of construction, together with rolling mills for the manufacture of iron.

Cataract, on Rathbun Creek, is a small village, has a saw and grist mill, and a Post Office is established there.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,000 square miles (2,590 km2), of which, 987 square miles (2,557 km2) of it is land and 13 square miles (33 km2) of it (1.28%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Clark County - north
  • Wood County - east
  • Juneau County - southeast
  • Monroe County - south
  • La Crosse County - southwest
  • Trempealeau County - west
  • Eau Claire County - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge